An Investment in Character

The Last Frontier Council has an Endowment Fund that supports the annual operations of the council. The money in the Endowment Fund is carefully invested by trust committee, under guidelines approved by the Council Executive Board. The purpose of an endowment fund is to never spend the principal of the fund. The interest earned each year is transferred into the operating fund to help finance the council's programs, including financial aid to individuals and camp property maintenance.

The endowment fund needs to grow each year. The national council believes that ultimately 25% of a council's operating budget will need to come from this source of income. Every Scouter in the Last Frontier Council can help build our endowment fund.

Please consider what you can do to help insure that Scouting in the Last Frontier Council remains strong and vibrant into the Twenty-First Century and beyond.

In recognition of your gift to our council endowment fund, Scouting offers two national awards:

James E. West Fellowship Award

A gift to a local council, designated by the donor to the council endowment fund, qualifies for membership as a James E. West fellow. The gift must be in addition to—and not replace or diminish—the donor’s annual Friends of Scouting support. A minimum gift of $1000 in cash or marketable securities qualifies for the Bronze level membership. Donors may make cumulative gifts to reach Silver, Gold, and Diamond member levels. For example, 5 years of giving at the Bronze level would qualify for Silver level membership.

Individuals and corporations may make these gifts either on behalf of someone else—such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or anniversary—or in memory of a special individual. The award is presented with a certificate, a lapel pin, and a square knot to wear on the uniform.

Second Century Society

Since the centennial of the BSA in 2010, the Second Century Society has recognized members donors who make deferred or outright gifts greater than $25,000 to support the operational, capital and endowment needs of Scouting. While every member has a different way they express their vision for Scouting’s future, they have a common goal… ensuring all youth continue to experience Scouting in its Second Century and beyond.

Download the Major Gifts Recognition pamphlet


Last Frontier Council James E. West Members

W. M. Acree Kyle T. Jones
Brian Aneshansley Melvin Jones M.D.
R. H. Austin Edward Joullian
Jordan D. Bennett Mr. and Mrs. Randal Juengel
Rance Bennett Vickie Koumaris
Robert W. Bennett  Rick L. Lam Jr. 
Thomas C. Bennett  Derek Lampe
Colleen Bicket Edward P. Leslie
John C. Bicket  Norma H. Leslie 
Mark  Bicket  Wanda L. Lucas
Paul C. Bicket Brian C. Lux
Richard L. Blake M.D.  Darrell Markwell
John W.  Boulton  Edmund Martin
Elvin J. Brown Thomas H. McCasland
B. C. Clark Jr.  H. C. McClure M.D.
Edward Crater   Lt. Col Mike Miller
Robert Dennis M.D.  John R. Mosley
William C. Dungan  Richard E. Oppel
James Elder David Parks
Peggy Elder Lucile Peters
Charles R. Ellis  Oren Lee Peters
James Farley  Paul L. Robinson
Don Finney Howard H. Rubin
In Memory of Don Finney Edward T. Smith
Stephen P. Frazier  Robert Spahn
Michelle Gee Homer Stewart
David B. Gillogly G. W. Swisher
Bob and Debra Gray  Louis Thompson
Terry R. Hanna Patricia Thompson
Travis Hanna  Lorenza Tolbert
Matt Harris  Don Vick
David S. Hass James Waldo
Mark Herkert Noris D. Whitaker
W. Robert Hofmann Pendleton Woods
Carlos Johnson  Jeff Woolsey
Harry Johnson  Harold A. Yocum
Charles Johnson  Don Zachritz